3 Simple Self-Mind-Control Techniques

What Is Meditation…

This is as simple as I can make it – Meditation is absolutely for everyone, to the city dweller & hectic life person – it is self-mind-control-training.

You practice relaxing your mind. Like a stretching routine.

You would use such a routine for your body, Yoga for example, so you can already start to see & understand the benefits that you could experience for your mind.

It is stretching, relaxing & focusing your mind.

Image

What Are The Benefits…

There are literally thousands of benefits from daily practice. Here are what I consider to be 3 main benefits:

 

Greater clarity of thought – most of us think in the form of an avalanche!

An uncontrolled stampede of thoughts crash into our minds & bodies, all at the same time.

When you gain better control at the speed of your thoughts you notice that each thought becomes clearer & holds more strength.

 

More Energy – Through training your body you will have experienced that you end up with more energy.

The same principle applies here with your mind. When you train your mind you also end up with more energy, this time more strength & clarity in your thoughts.

As your thoughts affect your body there is always a knock on effect, which leaves you feeling physically freer & more energised.

 

Ability To Relax – As you are likely a very busy person, you will know that it can sometimes be hard to wind-down & relax.

With a little practice & play with meditation you will find it easier to switch off at the end of the day, or at anytime you wish.

The in-ability to relax these days can be attributed to the increase in headaches/migraines, obesity & disease.

If you are constantly thrashing your brain & body then it is just a matter of time before it breaks!

Learn how to add mini breaks that prolong your ability to work intensely over long periods of time & not end up injured, sick or depressed!

 

Why Should I Do It…

Some of the reasons given above are good enough to start!

However, there are thousands more reasons & benefits that you will gain from a daily meditation routine.

I share with you my personal story –

From the age of 13 I started to suffer with migraines. Blurred vision, intense pain in my head leaving me debilitated!

These episodes would come & go with no particular reason? Sometimes it would be a flash of light, if I were getting a picture taken, but sometimes they would just start up for no reason at all! Or that is what I thought at the time.

These migraines attacked me on & off for years.

I would take a tablet to help relieve the pain but most times they didn’t work & I just had to bear it!

Sometimes a migraine would arrive on a day that I had great plans! This made it even worse. Not only was I in pain but I also had to miss out having fun with my friends & family. I was SO FRUSTRATED!

 

I would do anything to get rid of these painful episodes…

At 21 I was still suffering. Then I discovered a book, which spoke about meditation & how it cured headaches & migraines. I instantly thought that I would give this a try.

I practiced the techniques & amazingly I didn’t have a migraine for quite some time. This was a perfect discovery.

After 6 months of no migraines I thought maybe it had nothing to do with the techniques & I had just grown out of them?

So I stopped my daily practice. Within 5 days I had a migraine! What a mistake!!

I instantly began my daily 15-minute routine & again no migraines.

Continuing my practice for years to follow, I made the same mistake only once more! I stopped meditating about 2 years later & within 7 days I suffered a migraine! Never again will I miss a day – it is just not worth it.

 

How Do I Do It: 3 Simple Techniques…

Here are 3 simple ways to get started. I will provide you with more techniques in future articles, for now have a go at these.

 

1)  Count Your Breath:

Sit upright so that you do not go to sleep! Close your eyes. Take a breath in & count 1. Breath out & count 2. Breathe in count 3 & so on.

Focus only on the number & your breath.

If your mind wonders it just means you need more practice.

Meditation is the art of leaving everything behind & being in the moment. It takes practice but it is worth it. Keep counting up to 50 or a number that suits you. Try to reach 50 without your mind wondering – that is the aim of the game.

 

2)  Focus On Body Parts:

Sit upright, or lie down flat on your back. Now think about your left foot.

Focus your mind & breath into your left foot. Do this for 3 breaths.

Now add focus to your right foot. Take another 3 breaths thinking about both feet. Breath deeply & thoroughly.

Now add your left leg. So you are now breathing into your left foot & leg & your right foot. Focus on your breathing & the feeling within those body parts.

The amount of benefits you gain from this is determined by your ability to stay tuned to your breath & the feeling within your body.

Keep building this up add your right leg, trunk, left arm, right arm, neck, head etc.

Once you have your entire body involved take 10 breaths focusing on your whole body.

Notice how different you feel from when you started.

…Feel different by doing nothing!

 

3)  No Thought Breathing

This example is the most difficult. You may need to practice the other 2 first & work your way up to this one.

Sit upright or lie down flat, your choice.

Now take a slow deep breath in & think of nothing else but your breath.

Your mind may race. Bring it back. Just breath. Let everything else slip by. Any pressing matters you have to attend to just let them be for a few minutes. Practice doing nothing if only for a few seconds!

Can you do it? A lot of people find this near on impossible! Can you do it?

Start small & build up. Try to get 3 breaths with zero thoughts. Then work on stretching it further. 5, 10, 20 or more.

In time & with practice you will notice improvement.

 

4)  Whichever technique you try set an alarm.

Set it for 5 or 10 or 20 minutes & do not move until your alarm goes off.

This will encapsulate your practice. You know exactly how long you are going to practice.

Set the time & finish it.

 

How Often…

Most meditators will report that twice daily practice of around 20 minutes works best. I have found that a daily routine of 10-20 minutes works well for me.

Due to my time restraints of being a workaholic & loving it! The once a day time frame & frequency works for me.

You need to know what works best for you. Trial & error.

One thing is for certain – you must practice daily. Do not miss a day. Wake up early or go to bed 10 minutes later. Either way get your practice in.

Even if it is only 10 minutes that can make a difference.

Practicing before bed is a good way to relax into sleep. The first few times you practice you may fall asleep. This is not a bad thing. You are practicing being able to relax. You are actually practicing how to remain right in between being asleep & awake.

A lot of healing & inspirational thought happens there. The longer you can spend there the better!

After years of practice I can literally switch off at the end of the day, much like a light switch.

When I want to go to sleep I start my routine, count myself down & the next thing I know it’s the morning!

 

Is There A Perfect Time…

For most people who meditate, practicing around sleep appears to be the most effective.

This is obviously due to the fact you have just woke up & are still connected to that sleepy state.

Or you are just about to go to sleep, it is the end of the day & your brain plus body are tired.

Either way this is something for you to trial.

At the end of the day, there is not a perfect time but rather the perfect time is when you are meditating – & that can be any time of the day that suits you.

 

What Should I Expect…

When you start expect frustration. Your brain will complain “This is stupid”, “I can’t do this!” or “This is time consuming & I’ve a million & 1 things I need to be getting on with”.

Relinquish those thoughts. Just set your practice & follow all the steps through to the end.

Each time you practice the same technique. Do not change it. Keep the same pattern. Same routine. This will solidify & enhance your results. Sit or lie in the same position. If you can practice in the same space.

After a short period of time you will experience being calm. This will feel freeing, liberating & healthy.

You will notice that you feel you have more space. To breathe, to think & to relax in. This is extremely healthy.

Stick with it & the benefits will open up for you.

 

Conclusion…

It appears to me that a lot of people have negative thoughts about the word meditation. A lot of people seem to think that it is mystical & a load of mumbo jumbo!

Are you one of those people?

If you have not tried a simple meditational technique then you should not have a negative thought about it.

Try it first. Stick with it for a while. You wouldn’t expect to look like Arnie after 1 gym session, so don’t expect to feel like the Dalai Lama in 1 meditation session.

You should not be stopped by others thoughts – or your own!

Practice relaxing, even if just for 10 minutes & you will notice the positive difference across your life.

 

To Your Best Health

ShapeTrainer Daniel Grant

 

p.s.

To Receive Quality Info Like This Straight To Your Email Opt In Here: Click Me!

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

